Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
How does the Lite XL differ from the half-liter Lite family?
The P356040 page lists a 1.0 L pot, 460 g page mass, supports for non-system pans, canister stand and hanging system. Its manual gives an 0.8 L water-fill ceiling. Lite and Lite Plus have 0.5 L pots with 0.5 L fill directions; Lite Plus adds supports and stand/hanging features but remains smaller.
Explore this need in the finder →Can its one burner heat two dishes at once?
No; the package is a single burner with one cooking position. Two pots are sequential cookware, not concurrent burners. The included supports allow another pan but the manual gives no maximum alternate-pan diameter.
Explore this need in the finder →What should be checked before using it in a windy or overhead setting?
The manual says not to cover stove or cartridge with a wind shield, requires outdoor use and specifies at least 1000 mm roof and 500 mm wall clearance to combustibles. It names Primus cartridge 2206 only. The page describes packing with a 230 g canister but does not clearly state whether fuel ships, so verify the exact offer.
Explore this need in the finder →Primus lists the Lite XL Stove System P356040 as the larger one-burner member of the Lite line: a top-mounted canister burner locks to a 1.0 L hard-anodized aluminum pot with a heat exchanger and pour spout. The US page also lists support pegs for non-system cookware, a removable handle, insulated sleeve, lid, canister stand and hanging system. Its manual calls the product Lite XL and gives a lower maximum fill line than nominal vessel capacity: no more than 0.8 L water. This is a research-based review of the cited documents; no field use, weighing, assembly trial or boiling test was performed.
A larger vessel, still one burner
Primus describes this system as a larger version of Lite Plus intended to make enough for two people. That is a manufacturer use description, not a promise about serving size or a test of a particular meal. The one burner remains one simultaneous heat source even though a pot and alternate-pan supports are included. The manual explains that another regular pot must use the supplied support pegs; it does not provide a maximum cookware diameter. A buyer considering a skillet should check its exact base and the supplied hardware instead of treating the product's 123 mm diameter dimension or 1.0 L pot capacity as a pan-size limit.
The product page says a 230 g canister can be packed inside the pot with the stove. That describes a packing arrangement, not a clear statement that fuel is supplied with every retail offer. The image gallery also depicts a canister, so verify the exact seller's package rather than infer included fuel from the photograph.
Keep nominal capacity separate from fill guidance
The included vessel is described as 1.0 L, but the Lite XL manual's English filling section sets a maximum of 0.8 L water and asks for a stable, flat surface. This is the capacity-and-fill pairing for the Lite XL family document; it is not the Lite Ultra XL P356045, whose linked PDF describes a different 0.8 L pot and cannot be substituted. Nor is the Lite XL's water line a maximum alternate-pan diameter.
Primus lists a 460 g weight, which is useful as a product-page figure but not as a manufacturer-defined minimum stove weight. The page does not state whether the number covers the burner, pot and accessories in the precise configuration used by the finder, and it is not a full fueled trip load. The strict minimum-weight field therefore remains unknown. The finder does not pass the product into a numeric weight shortlist on the strength of an unlabeled figure.
Published performance figures do not agree cleanly
The product description says the burner is 1500 W and boils 0.5 L in about two-and-a-half minutes. The specifications table lists 1700 W, 120 g per hour, and 2.30 minutes with a PrimeTech pot. The manual gives a 1.0 kW / 70 g per hour claim at 1 bar but also prints a different Btu figure at 1.45 bar. The page and manual do not provide a common conditions table that reconciles these numbers. They are retained as manufacturer statements, not combined into a single performance claim or presented as an independent test.
The control valve is described as oversized and foldable for precise flame control, and the manual says to adjust the flame by turning the valve. That supports adjustable-output classification, but it is not a low-flame stability test. Use the comparison to identify the documented control, then temper any simmer expectation with cookware, wind and fuel conditions the documents do not quantify.
Fuel, screen and clearance rules
The Primus US manual index identifies the Lite XL family instructions. The PDF names Primus's propane/isobutane/butane cartridge 2206 and says other cartridge types may be hazardous. It does not specify the exact MSR 80/20 or Jetboil JetPower survey fuel choice, nor separately state EN 417. The same document says never to cover the stove or canister with wind shields, rocks or similar objects. The included burner/pot system and its wind performance claims do not approve an added shield.
The manual restricts operation to outdoors, requires at least 1000 mm to combustible material above and 500 mm to walls, and gives cartridge connection, leak-check and stable-surface instructions. Follow the exact manual supplied with the P356040 offer. Do not apply a clearance, fill line or screen claim from the differently named Lite Ultra XL.
Compare it by actual package need
The smaller Lite Plus 0.5 L keeps the heat-exchanger pot concept and adds supplied supports, stand and suspension features around a much smaller vessel; its manual water limit is 0.5 L. The basic Lite P356020 also has a 0.5 L pot, but its exact US page does not list Lite Plus's support pegs and stand. The separate Lite Ultra XL 1.2 L looks similar in the product family name but is a different configuration whose linked manual's 0.8 L fill line must not be inferred for the P356040 solely from the shared number.
Keep P356040 on a shortlist when one integrated cooking position, a larger matched pot and included support hardware suit the task. Look elsewhere if two burners are essential, the cooking plan requires an approved separate windscreen, exact MSR or JetPower fuel, a known maximum alternate-pan diameter or a documented minimum stove weight. Confirm the model code, accessories, exact manual and fuel offer before ordering.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Burners in one arrangement | 1 |
|---|---|
| Fuel connector | Primus 2206 screw-on-canister; connector standard not stated |
| Specified fuel blend | Primus propane isobutane butane mix 2206 |
| Included pot capacity | 1 L |
| Adjustable flame | Yes |
| Separate windscreen permitted | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
- Primus US Stoves collection, page 1 observed-card snapshot
- Primus US Lite XL Stove System exact P356040 product page
- Primus US exact Lite XL P356040 variant record
- Primus US official stove-manual index
- Primus Lite XL family manual linked from the US index
- US CPSC Recalls database, targeted identifier search
Compare this stove against your actual setup
Use the finder for a fact-based shortlist, then confirm the exact manual, fuel cartridge and package before use.
