Model assessment · Optimus

Optimus Vega review

One-burner remote Optimus EN 417 canister stove with an integrated inverted-cartridge mode; 178 g listed stove weight and no documented maximum cookware diameter in the reviewed English manual.

Sources checked 2026-11-03 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Official Optimus Vega remote-canister stove with burner, hose and integrated cartridge support visible.
Official Optimus Vega stove photo; package contents are not inferred from the image. Optimus / Katadyn
A useful fit for

A one-burner remote-canister setup for a user who wants an adjustable flame and the manual-described option of inverted-cartridge operation, and who can use the named Optimus EN 417 cartridges.

The main tradeoff

The exact Optimus blend is not interchangeable by assumption with the finder’s MSR 80/20 or Jetboil JetPower choices; the reviewed documents do not specify a cookware diameter maximum or approve a separate windscreen, and output figures vary by source and mode.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Which cartridge fits the Optimus Vega 8018505?

Its English manual specifies Optimus 100, 110, 220, 230 or 450 g cartridges certified to EN 417 and warns that other types may be hazardous. The ratio is not stated as MSR 80/20 or Jetboil JetPower.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the Vega simmer and how is its cold mode described?

The maker describes precise flame control and simmering. Its manual distinguishes normal upright vapor-feed use from an inverted-cartridge liquid-feed mode; follow the model instructions and do not read marketing temperature copy as an independent safety rating.

Explore this need in the finder →
What pot diameter or extra windscreen is approved for the Vega?

The reviewed English manual does not state a general cookware-diameter maximum or approve a separate windscreen. Its ground shield is a different accessory, and the manual warns not to put the canister inside a windscreen perimeter.

Explore this need in the finder →

This is a source-based assessment of the Optimus Vega, item 8018505, not a hands-on review. Katadyn describes a remote-canister, single-burner stove with an integrated inverted-cartridge mode. The maker’s English manual and fact sheet provide useful operating details, but the currently captured product page is in a European locale and says the product is unavailable in that region. It does not establish a current US offer or stock status.

A remote burner with its own tradeoffs

The canister sits away from the burner and connects by a hose. Optimus lists a 178 g stove weight and a folded size of 130 × 70 × 65 mm. Those are manufacturer specifications, not a complete carried-kitchen weight: fuel, cookware and the rest of the package still matter. The product sheet lists a storage bag and ground shield as accessories, but the captured page does not confirm the exact contents of a US seller’s box. The Vega’s support legs are integrated into its valve housing, so the product description does not depend on a separate canister stand.

That remote arrangement puts the cooking surface lower than a burner perched directly on a canister. The low profile can be useful with a real pot, but it does not prove that every wide or heavy vessel is stable. The English manual supplies no general maximum cookware diameter or maximum pot load in the specifications reviewed here. Treat that fit as unresolved rather than inferring a limit from the stove’s physical dimensions or marketing description.

Cold-weather mode is still a specific gas-cartridge system

Optimus describes turning the compatible cartridge upside down on the integrated support for its cold-weather liquid-feed mode, and its product page claims use down to −20 °C. This is not a liquid-fuel bottle stove: the fuel is still a pressurized butane/isobutane/propane cartridge. The English instructions name Optimus 100, 110, 220, 230 or 450 g EN 417 cartridges and warn against trying other cartridge types. They also caution that the blend becomes less efficient in cold weather and that the manual’s normal vapor-feed mode is preferred for simmering. Do not infer compatibility with a different brand’s mixture from a similar threaded valve.

The published power figures are not a single clean number across sources. The current product page and fact sheet list 2.6 kW nominal (and 6,000 BTU/h), while the linked manual differentiates 1.4 kW in vapor mode from 3.7 kW in liquid-feed mode and also prints 6,000 BTU/h for the vapor rating. Those values and conditions do not reconcile neatly. I leave a universal output value unresolved instead of selecting whichever figure looks highest. The fact sheet lists up to 160 minutes from a 230 g cartridge at maximum vapor-mode output and about 4.5 minutes to boil one liter in efficiency mode; both are manufacturer claims affected by conditions, not independent tests.

Wind protection and cookware need care

The fact sheet’s ground shield is not evidence that a separate windscreen is approved. The manual calls for a ground shield on a combustible surface and separately warns never to place the cartridge inside a windscreen perimeter. The material reviewed here does not name or approve an added external screen, so a windscreen-required finder choice should not treat this as a confirmed match. Keep the fuel canister’s position and clearances exactly as directed by the manual rather than enclosing it to block wind.

The Vega has adjustable flame control and the manufacturer explicitly describes simmering and water boiling. That makes it more versatile than a fixed-output boil-only head on paper; it is not a test of low-flame stability. The wide burner and hose arrangement are more important to the decision than the “four season” label: confirm pot support, terrain, fuel availability and the exact cold-mode instructions for your use.

Who should compare it?

The Vega is worth comparing for a walker who wants one remote burner, is willing to use the named Optimus cartridges, and values the option of inverted-cartridge operation in cold conditions. It is not a documented fit for the finder’s MSR 80/20 or Jetboil JetPower fuel requirements; the Optimus blend ratio is not stated. It also cannot answer a numeric pot-diameter constraint from the available manual, and its approval for a separate windscreen is not established. Before buying, verify the exact 8018505 package, compatible cartridge and complete manual for the unit being offered. No price, US availability, independent performance test, ownership or cooking experience is claimed here.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer-listed minimum weight178 g
Burners in one arrangement1
Fuel connectorThreaded EN 417 canister connection
Specified fuel blendOptimus en417 butane isobutane propane mix unspecified ratio
Push-start ignitionNo
Adjustable flameYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare this stove against your actual setup

Use the finder for a fact-based shortlist, then confirm the exact manual, fuel cartridge and package before use.

In this review

Questions to consider for this model

Read the matching requirement, its tradeoffs and the other reviewed options.

More matching requirements
Combine my requirements →