Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What is included with the Crux Lite Piezo, SKU 8018914?
Optimus identifies a Crux Lite stove plus a separate handheld piezo igniter on a lanyard. It is not an integrated igniter, and the product page does not state that the pictured gas canister, pot or the fuller Elektra FE cook set is included. Verify the exact 8018914 package on the offer.
Explore this need in the finder →What are the Crux Lite Piezo fuel, cookware and windscreen limits?
The included Crux Lite burner follows the shared manual: the general no-screen cookware maximum is 220 mm (listed as 8.5 in), but the Optimus Clip-On Windshield arrangement is limited to 130 mm pot diameter with about 10 mm spacing and must be fitted before lighting. The finder conservatively uses 5 inches for a screen-required comparison.
Explore this need in the finder →How much does the Crux Lite Piezo package weigh?
The Crux Lite component is listed at 72 g in its own factsheet, but Optimus does not publish the total 8018914 package weight including the separate handheld piezo. Since this weight filter concerns the exact offered setup, the bundle does not satisfy a numeric minimum-weight cap on the component figure alone; fuel, pot and accessories are additional.
Explore this need in the finder →This is a source-based fit assessment of the Optimus Crux Lite Piezo, exact SKU 8018914. It is a distinct package built around the Crux Lite burner, with a separate handheld piezo igniter on a lanyard. It is not a Crux with a built-in push-button igniter, and it is not the fuller Elektra FE system that adds cookware and a windshield. The official package page identifies the stove and igniter, but does not provide a total package weight.
The included igniter is a separate tool
The underlying burner is the nonfolding Crux Lite: Optimus lists that stove component at 72 g and 3,000 W. That figure is useful for comparing bare burners, but it is not the weight of the complete 8018914 kit because the included igniter’s weight is not listed. A separate igniter also has a different routine than a built-in piezo button: it must be brought to the burner after the valve is opened. Keep it attached on its lanyard, have a backup lighting method and follow the lighting steps in the current instructions.
The manufacturer photo shows a Crux Lite on a green gas cartridge alongside the handheld spark tool. The page specifically identifies the Crux Lite and igniter; it does not state that the pictured canister or cookware comes with the SKU. Confirm what the exact retailer offer includes rather than reading a staged product photograph as a package list. The page does not identify a full package mass, so adding the igniter to 72 g would require a measurement the sources do not provide.
Optimus describes the Crux Lite’s adjustable burner and publishes an approximate one-liter boil in three minutes. This is a maker specification, not a timed test by us. A single burner can support a pot of water, a simple meal or an adjustable one-pot cook, but cannot heat separate dishes at once. If you plan a sauce and a frying pan simultaneously, the package’s ignition convenience does not solve the one-burner layout.
Fuel and pot fit still govern the setup
The product page and shared Crux/Crux Lite manual say to use Optimus gas cartridges compliant with EN 417. The English manual describes a butane/isobutane/propane mixture, a screw-on threaded connection and a maximum cartridge size of 450 g; the US manual does not set out a specific mixture ratio. Do not assume that any canister with a similar-looking valve, bulk propane cylinder or adapter is approved, and do not equate this with the exact blends in MSR or Jetboil systems.
The exact model-family manual sets the ordinary cookware limit at 220 mm (listed as 8.5 inches) and limits pan plus food to 2 kg total. The manual’s two stated diameter units are rounded inconsistently; for general use without a separate screen, this assessment retains the stated 8.5-inch figure. The limit does not say every pan under that size is stable: the supports, pot base, load and surface still matter. Use a horizontal, stable surface and never operate with empty or dry cookware.
Optimus approves a separate shield only for its named Clip-On Windshield arrangement. Fit it before lighting, leave about 10 mm between the pot and shield, and do not use a pot wider than 130 mm with it. Do not transfer that 130 mm accessory limit to the stove’s general pot capacity or use an unapproved reflector. The site’s one-value comparison uses a conservative 5-inch step for Crux-family entries whenever screened cooking is required, while the 8.5-inch manual limit is for the general no-screen setup. Because the package page does not list an included screen, do not assume it is part of SKU 8018914.
Limits that matter in camp
The manual requires open-air use with natural ventilation, a level horizontal surface and clear space around the stove; it warns about gas leaks, hot surfaces, flammable fabrics and carbon monoxide. It also says to check the canister O-ring before use, not to overtighten the connection, and to use caution below freezing because seals can stiffen. No precise minimum operating temperature is published for this package, so a specific cold rating cannot be claimed.
The shared manual’s handheld-piezo supplement appears under its Elektra FE cook-set section, not as a separate 8018914 package manual. It warns that the handheld igniter is not reliable above 2,000 m. The Crux Lite Piezo product page confirms the same type of separate igniter, but does not publish a tested altitude or ignition success rate for SKU 8018914; treat the maker’s manual note as a relevant caution, not a guarantee of performance. Carry a backup lighter or matches and follow the current manual.
Who should choose this package?
Consider it when you want a Crux Lite stove and a separate igniter together, prefer a one-pot menu and can source the exact fuel. It is less compelling if you want an integrated igniter, a complete cookware kit, a known total carry weight, two simultaneous burners or a broad pot with a screen. Compare it to the plain Crux Lite if saving package weight matters: both use the same underlying burner, but only 8018914 names the handheld piezo in the package.
Before ordering, confirm the full SKU 8018914, that the igniter is present, the canister is an allowed Optimus EN 417 type, the pot fits the manual, and the seller’s package does not substitute another cook set. The current manufacturer page offers an inquiry action and does not establish retailer stock or price. Read the complete instructions, inspect the seals, do not store or transport the stove connected to its canister, and use it outdoors only.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Burners in one arrangement | 1 |
|---|---|
| Fuel connector | Threaded EN 417 canister connection |
| Specified fuel blend | Butane isobutane propane mix unspecified ratio |
| Maximum cookware diameter | 5 in |
| Push-start ignition | No |
| Adjustable flame | Yes |
| Separate windscreen permitted | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
- Optimus / Katadyn Stoves collection, US public route
- Optimus Optimus Crux Lite product page, exact listed package SKU 8018914
- Optimus Optimus Crux Lite model-specific fact sheet
- Optimus Crux / Crux Lite / Elektra FE official manual; English section
- Katadyn Optimus regulatory resources / CPSC recall scope check
Compare this stove against your actual setup
Use the finder for a fact-based shortlist, then confirm the exact manual, fuel cartridge and package before use.
