Model assessment · GSI Outdoors

GSI Selkirk 460+ Camp Stove review

A two-burner propane camp stove with individual micro-control valves and built-in wraparound screens. GSI describes adjustment from slow simmer to fast boil. Exact connector, maximum pan diameter, weight basis and permission for a separate external screen remain unestablished.

Sources checked 2026-11-05 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

GSI Selkirk 460+ studio image with two burner positions and raised wraparound screens; no fuel cylinder is shown.
Manufacturer reference photo of the Selkirk 460+ with its two burners and raised integral screens. GSI Outdoors
A useful fit for

A car-camp cook who needs two simultaneous propane burners, independent control and the manufacturer-described simmer-to-boil range, and can verify the precise cylinder interface and setup.

The main tradeoff

No current-page weight, connector standard, cookware maximum or authorization for an additional separate windscreen is established. The 8- and 10-inch pans are named examples only, and current/2024 GSI output claims conflict.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the Selkirk 460+ meet an exact MSR 80/20 or Jetboil JetPower fuel requirement?

No match is established. GSI calls it propane-fueled and includes a regulator, but the exact cylinder connector is not specified. Do not infer a threaded EN417 connection, a canister blend or an adapter from the photo.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does GSI document adjustable simmer and two simultaneous burners?

Yes. GSI describes individual valves for slow simmer through fast boil and lists two burner heads. These are manufacturer statements, not independent flame-control or cooking tests.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the Selkirk 460+ use an additional windscreen or a pan above 10 inches?

Neither condition is confirmed. GSI lists built-in wraparound screens and 8- and 10-inch side-by-side pan examples, but no separate-screen approval or maximum pan diameter.

Explore this need in the finder →

The GSI Selkirk 460+ is a two-burner propane camp stove for meal plans that need two pots going at once. GSI describes independent flame controls that can move from a slow simmer to a full boil, and it supplies wraparound screens as part of the stove. Its page names 8- and 10-inch pans side by side; it does not give a maximum pan diameter, an exact propane-cylinder connector, or a model-specific external-screen approval. This is a source-based assessment, not a hands-on review: no burn, wind, clearance or boil performance has been tested here.

Two separate cooking positions

The clearest case for the Selkirk 460+ is practical rather than ultralight: two burners, two individual micro-control valves and GSI's stated range from slow simmering to fast boiling. That gives this model a stronger published simmer case than a single-burner stove with only a generic adjustment knob. The claim still comes from GSI. The page does not publish a minimum flame rating or an independent simmer test, so delicate cooking performance will depend on cookware, conditions, fuel and the actual unit.

GSI says the pot supports carry 8- and 10-inch pans side by side, and that its wraparound windscreens fold out of the way for larger cookware. These are useful layout examples, not a promise that every pair of pans will clear each other. Handle length, pan-base shape and spacing matter. Check the full cookware footprint against the stove before planning simultaneous meals; do not translate the two examples into a universal maximum diameter.

Propane details and a specification conflict

The current product page identifies propane fuel and includes a regulator, two burner heads, pot support, upper and side windscreens, igniter, handle and two adjusters. It does not list a propane cylinder in the package. The exact connector and approved container setup are not specified in the page information reviewed here. A listed regulator alone does not tell you whether a particular refillable bottle, bulk tank, adapter or quick-connect is approved. Check the instructions for the exact offer and avoid selecting a connection by resemblance.

There is also an unresolved output discrepancy. GSI's current page publishes 10,000 BTU per hour under CSA and 11,790 under CE for its twin burners. A GSI-authored 2024 workbook lists 14,000 CSA and 11,790 CE for SKU 56014. The documents do not explain the difference, so this assessment does not choose one CSA number or combine the figures. Neither specification is a measured cooking result.

Storage and screens need careful reading

The current page lists dimensions of 18.3 by 12.9 by 3.8 inches, but it does not say whether these describe a packed, folded or deployed state. A current bare-stove weight is not established. If space or carry weight is a hard constraint, get a current figure and clarify its basis rather than treating an unlabelled dimension or a retailer's package weight as a guaranteed transport size.

The built-in wraparound screens are documented components of this stove. Their ability to fold away is not permission to add a second, separate windscreen. GSI's public manuals page says its manual content is still to be added, and no exact 460+ instruction reviewed here establishes a separate screen. Leave extra shields off unless the precise model instructions explicitly allow them.

Safety and who should compare it

GSI warns that the stove is for outdoor use only and can produce deadly carbon monoxide; its danger text also calls out enclosed spaces, combustibles, fuel-cylinder heat and unobstructed combustion airflow. Do not use it in a tent, vestibule, vehicle, house or other enclosed area. The reviewed product page gives no numeric setup clearance, so use the exact supplied instructions and maintain an open outdoor cooking area instead of inventing a distance.

Compare the Selkirk 460+ with other GSI two-burner choices if you need independent controls and multiple pans. A one-burner Glacier or Pinnacle backpacking stove serves a different cooking plan. The 460+ is the most clearly described of these options for two-position simmer-to-boil use, but its exact connector, maximum cookware, carry weight and any extra-screen permission remain open. It makes sense when two propane burners and the included integral screens are central to the meal; it is a poor choice to buy by assuming unknown fit or output details.

GSI Selkirk 460+ product page

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Burners in one arrangement2
Specified fuel blendPropane
Fuel canister includedNo
Pressure regulatorYes
Push-start ignitionYes
Adjustable flameYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare this stove against your actual setup

Use the finder for a fact-based shortlist, then confirm the exact manual, fuel cartridge and package before use.

In this review

Questions to consider for this model

Read the matching requirement, its tradeoffs and the other reviewed options.

More matching requirements
Combine my requirements →