Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Does the Explorer set meet MSR 80/20 or Jetboil JetPower fuel requirements?
No exact match is established. The named Glacier Camp Stove #56004 instructions specify GSI IsoButane cartridges and a screw-on connection, but do not establish the MSR or Jetboil blend and exact connector requirements.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the 525 g set weight meet a bare-stove weight maximum?
No. GSI’s 18.6 oz / 525 g figure is for the complete set with pot, lid, Foon and bags. The exact bare-stove minimum weight remains unknown and cannot pass a numeric limit.
Explore this need in the finder →Can I add a windscreen or use a larger pot?
No windscreen: the exact #56004 instructions prohibit it. A maximum cookware diameter is not stated; the included 1.1 L pot and 125-mm support-arm span do not establish a pan limit.
Explore this need in the finder →Is simmer-level control documented?
GSI describes a micro-control valve and says the stove adjusts from simmer to high output. This supports an adjustable-simmer feature match, not an independently tested simmer performance claim.
Explore this need in the finder →The GSI Glacier Stainless Explorer Set is a one-person stove kit rather than a pot-only cookware bundle. GSI identifies the package as SKU 68199 and says it includes a Glacier Camp Stove, a 1.1-liter stainless-steel pot and lid, a folding Foon, a stove bag, and a mesh stuff sack. The manufacturer lists 18.6 ounces (525 grams) for the complete set. That number includes the cooking package; it is not the bare stove weight. This assessment uses GSI product and manual information, not personal use or independent performance testing.
A compact solo package, built around one small pot
The Explorer Set brings the burner and the cookware that fits its intended solo routine together. Its 1.1-liter pot is sized for a single meal, drink water, or a small cook-and-eat setup; the product page calls the set a soloist kit. GSI describes the stainless pot as a narrow, space-saving shape and lists packed dimensions of 5.2 by 4.8 by 4.9 inches. The folding handle locks for cooking and folds away for carrying. The kit adds one folding Foon and storage bags, but the published contents do not list a second pot, two bowls, or a fuel canister.
The burner is the named Glacier Camp Stove, the same model GSI lists separately as SKU 56004. The set page publishes 11,000 BTU per hour under the CSA basis and 12,970 BTU per hour under the CE basis; these are manufacturer ratings, not a single independent output measurement. GSI also describes a micro-control valve that ranges from simmer to high output. Its separate Glacier Camp Stove page reports a two-minute average to boil 0.5 liters, another maker-reported figure rather than a result measured for this article. None of these figures guarantees a particular boil time in wind, cold, elevation, or a different pot.
Use the named fuel and keep a windscreen off
The exact #56004 instructions specify GSI IsoButane cartridges, described as an isobutane/propane mix, but the ratio is not stated in the manual material reviewed. The connection is described as screw-on; that does not certify a particular EN417 standard or another brand’s fuel blend. The published included-items list contains the stove and bags but not a cartridge. Use the exact cartridge and procedures in the current instructions for the burner rather than inferring compatibility from its appearance or from another brand’s standard.
The #56004 manual’s wind rule is important: it says not to use a windscreen with the Glacier Camp Stove. Do not add a separate shield or reflector to improve performance. The stove is for outdoor use only; the manual warns about carbon monoxide and ignition hazards. Choose a stable, level place away from combustible material and follow the full instructions for connection, leak checks, lighting, cooling, and storage. The manufacturer’s 125-millimeter support-arm span, where cited, is not a maximum cookware-diameter rating. I found no exact cookware-width maximum or bare-stove minimum weight for this configuration, so those remain unknown rather than being inferred from the pot size or the complete-set weight.
What the complete-set weight does—and does not—tell you
At 18.6 ounces (525 grams), the catalog’s figure applies to the bundled pot, lid, utensil, stove, stove bag, and mesh sack. It can help assess the weight of the purchased set, but not whether the burner meets a numerical bare-stove cap. The fuel canister is not named as included in the published list and will add weight. A buyer who needs an ultralight burner-only comparison should use a separately published minimum for the exact stove, not divide or subtract from the package mass. The compact packed dimensions likewise describe the system, not the deployed burner supports or the clearance needed around a lit stove.
Best fit and limits
The Explorer Set makes the most sense for a solo camper who wants one GSI canister stove, one stainless pot and a minimal utensil/storage package in a single purchase. Its documented simmer-to-high valve adds more control than a simple boil-only claim, but there is no independent simmer test here. The small single-pot format is not a two-burner family kitchen, and the manual’s windscreen prohibition matters in exposed campsites. It also does not establish compatibility with MSR 80/20 or Jetboil JetPower cartridges, a pot-size ceiling, or a numeric operating-temperature range. If any of those are hard requirements, leave the exact choice open or verify the current #56004 instructions before purchase. Check that the offer is the complete Explorer Set SKU 68199, not a standalone Glacier stove or cookware-only item; confirm current package contents and seller terms on the exact offer.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Burners in one arrangement | 1 |
|---|---|
| Specified fuel blend | Gsi isobutane unspecified mixture |
| Included pot capacity | 1.1 L |
| Included bowls | 0 |
| Included mugs | 0 |
| Fuel canister included | No |
| Adjustable flame | Yes |
| Separate windscreen permitted | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
- GSI Outdoors exact product pages, normal rendered observations (2026-11-05)
- GSI Outdoors 2024 Workbook, stove and accessory section, printed page 7
- GSI Outdoors Stoves collection frozen pre-boundary snapshot
- CPSC Recalls, bounded exact-name and identifier search for the two GSI kits
- GSI Glacier Camp Stove user instructions #56004
- GSI Glacier Camp Stove exact component page
Compare this stove against your actual setup
Use the finder for a fact-based shortlist, then confirm the exact manual, fuel cartridge and package before use.
