Model assessment · Gas One

Gas One GS-3000 Butane Camp Stove review

A current-US single-burner butane tabletop stove rated by Gas One at 9,000 BTU, with an 8 oz fuel canister and an explicitly listed carry case. Gas One publishes conflicting weight figures; no minimum weight or maximum pan diameter is documented.

Sources checked 2026-11-04 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Gas One GS-3000 one-burner portable stove shown in black, viewed at an angle; the photo does not establish its included case contents.
Manufacturer image linked to the GS-3000 page shows a single black burner; check the written package list for the case. Gas One
A useful fit for

A possible fit for one-pan outdoor cooking when the larger listed tabletop footprint, 8 oz butane setup, and manufacturer-described carry case suit the trip.

The main tradeoff

The page gives conflicting 3.3 lb and 3.1 lb claims, and variant metadata says 2,404 g; none is a verified minimum stove weight. Pan-size maximum, separate-screen approval, and case dimensions are not published.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the GS-3000 page support adjustable one-burner cooking?

Gas One lists 9,000 BTU and describes adjustable heat for boiling and low simmering. This is a maker-stated feature for a single cooking position, not a timed boil or an independently checked simmer range.

Explore this need in the finder →
What is listed with the stove, and what fuel remains separate?

The exact product page explicitly lists a portable carry case and says an 8 oz butane canister is used; fuel is not included. It does not list propane hardware or a threaded backpacking connection. Confirm the seller’s exact GS-3000 package and the manual.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I rely on it for a strict cookware, weight, or separate-screen rule?

The published weight is unresolved: the page says 3.3 lb in its bullets and 3.1 lb in its technical section, while variant metadata says 2,404 g. No number is identified as minimum bare-stove weight. Maximum pan diameter and separate-screen permission are also unconfirmed.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Gas One GS-3000 is a one-burner butane stove with a larger body and higher published output than the GS-800A. Gas One lists 9,000 BTU, an 8-ounce butane canister, a 13.5 by 11.2 by 4.4-inch footprint, and an included portable carry case. The stove is described as outdoor-use only, and fuel is not included. Those facts point to a portable tabletop cooking role; they do not establish a boil time, wind tolerance, or cookware-load limit.

The case is the package distinction

Among the five models in this group, the GS-3000 is the one whose exact product page explicitly names a carry case. That can be a practical difference for a stove that will travel in a vehicle or be stored between trips, although the page does not specify the case’s dimensions or add any extra cooking capability. It remains a single-burner stove; a case does not change the number of pans that can be heated at once. The listed dimensions put the GS-3000 in a substantially larger footprint than the GS-800A. That may feel more convenient for a wider camp surface or a larger cooking area, but Gas One does not state a maximum pan diameter or supported cookware weight. Do not read the broader-looking grate in the official image as proof that a particular oversized pan is safe. If your cookware selection depends on a minimum support width or load rating, ask for those exact limits before choosing.

Butane setup and one cooking position

The US page identifies an 8-ounce butane canister and expressly says fuel is not included. It does not document a propane setup or a threaded EN 417 backpacking cartridge. The canister’s size and connection matter: use the precise type named by the manual for this SKU, not a cartridge chosen only by appearance. Confirm whether the retailer’s package is the bare stove plus the named case or a different bundle, since the manufacturer page is not a substitute for the seller’s complete box list. Gas One claims adjustable heat for both boiling and low simmering and lists piezo ignition. Those features make the GS-3000 a plausible candidate for cooking beyond a single full-power boil, but the claims are not a tested simmer range or a guarantee that every pot will respond gently. The stove has one burner, so it is a fit only when sequential cooking is acceptable. The maker also lists an integrated windguard and several cartridge safety mechanisms; none of those statements approves an add-on windscreen or replaces exact operating instructions.

Read the weight as conflicting, not settled

Gas One’s page describes the model as weighing 3.3 pounds, but the technical block later lists 3.1 pounds. Storefront variant data separately records 2,404 grams. The source does not explain why these numbers differ or whether any figure includes packaging or the carry case. That means the GS-3000 cannot honestly satisfy a strict minimum bare-stove weight request from this record. The apparent precision of a gram figure does not make its measurement basis clearer. The manufacturer page provides dimensions, but not a minimum bare weight, packed weight, case weight, or maximum cookware diameter. Use the dimensions to check storage space, not to infer how heavy it will feel in a loaded vehicle or how a pan will sit under flame. For an overnight menu built around one pot, the case and familiar butane canister may matter more than the weight discrepancy; for ultralight carry or pan-fit constraints, the record is insufficient.

Feature claims and safety boundaries

The exact page lists a metal body with an enamel-coated steel drip pan, nonslip feet, ventilation openings, a heat-resistant knob, piezo ignition, and an integrated windguard. It also describes a safety lever, automatic gas shutoff, and cartridge-ejection response to an irregular pressure condition. These are manufacturer-reported features, not independent certification or proof of failure prevention. Operate the stove on a stable outdoor surface, keep the cartridge area clear as directed, and follow the current manual for setup, ignition, cooling, storage, and fuel removal. The page gives no permission for a separate windscreen, no maximum pan size, and no temperature or altitude limit in the reviewed text. Those are unknowns, not implicit approvals. If a windy site is common, use only a wind solution the exact instructions allow; the integrated guard is not proof that a surrounding improvised shield is safe.

Who is the GS-3000 for?

Consider it when a larger tabletop format, the maker’s 9,000 BTU claim, adjustable heat, 8-ounce butane, and an explicitly listed carry case align with your routine. Its strongest distinction here is the case-backed package description, not a documented cookware advantage. Compare it with the more compact GS-800A if storage footprint matters; look elsewhere if two burners, a verified pan ceiling, a known minimum stove weight, propane, or approved separate-screen use is essential. Before purchasing, verify the exact GS-3000 code and whether the offer retains the manufacturer-described case and instructions.
Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Burners in one arrangement1
Fuel connectorButane canister; exact connector standard not stated
Specified fuel blendButane (8 oz canister specified)
Adjustable flameYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare this stove against your actual setup

Use the finder for a fact-based shortlist, then confirm the exact manual, fuel cartridge and package before use.

In this review

Questions to consider for this model

Read the matching requirement, its tradeoffs and the other reviewed options.

More matching requirements
Combine my requirements →