Model assessment · Gas One

Gas One GS-1000G Butane Camp Stove review

A single-burner 7,650 BTU butane tabletop stove with a listed 8 oz canister, adjustable heat and integrated windguard. Page and variant weights conflict; the exact page does not state a cookware ceiling or itemize a case.

Sources checked 2026-11-04 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Black Gas One single-burner stove linked from the exact GS-1000G page; the photo does not show a readable model code or case.
Gas One's GS-1000G page links this black single-burner image; the photo does not list package contents. Gas One
A useful fit for

A possible fit for outdoor single-pan cooking when the 8 oz butane route and a maker-described adjustable flame suit the user's setup.

The main tradeoff

The exact page's 3.1 lb claim conflicts with 2,023 g variant metadata; package weight, case inclusion and maximum pan size are not settled by the page.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the GS-1000G document an adjustable one-burner cooking arrangement?

The exact page identifies a single burner, 7,650 BTU and adjustable heat from boil to low simmer. These are Gas One claims, not measured performance or a tested simmer-stability result.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is its fuel an exact MSR threaded 80/20 system?

No. The inspected exact page lists an 8 oz butane canister, not the specified MSR blend and threaded EN 417 connection; an adapter or alternate fuel route is not inferred.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I use the listed weight to meet a 300 g minimum-weight cap?

Not safely from this record: variant metadata says 2,023 g and neither field defines minimum bare-stove weight. The page also does not give a maximum cookware diameter.

Explore this need in the finder →

Short take: the GS-1000G is the base single-burner, 8 oz butane stove in Gas One's 7,650 BTU line. Its exact page describes adjustable flame, piezo ignition and an integrated windguard. It also leaves important shopper questions open: 3.1 lb conflicts with 2,023 g variant metadata, there is no pan-size limit, and a carrying case is not itemized on this exact listing. Do not confuse this base SKU with the separately observed GS-1000G-KIT stove-and-griddle package.

What the GS-1000G page actually says

Gas One identifies the GS-1000G as a one-burner portable butane stove and lists an 8 oz butane canister. Fuel is not included. The maker's output claim is 7,650 BTU, and its page describes adjustable heat from boiling toward a low simmer. This supports a broad one-pan use case where a separate butane cartridge is acceptable. It does not establish propane compatibility, MSR's threaded 80/20 system or Jetboil JetPower. No adapter or connector standard should be inferred from the words “butane canister.”

The page lists 13.5 × 11.2 × 4.4 inches, along with a metal body and enamel steel drip pan. It describes non-slip feet, ventilation openings, a heat-resistant knob, piezo ignition and an integrated circular windguard. The latter is an around-the-burner feature, not evidence that an added screen is allowed. The page does not give a maximum pan diameter, cookware load, minimum pan size or separate-windscreen instructions. If a specific vessel or screen is essential, the exact manual or maker guidance must answer that directly.

Weight and package contents need confirmation

The product-details section lists 3.1 lb, but the variant metadata reports 2,023 g, roughly 4.46 lb. The manufacturer page does not reconcile the difference or label either number as a stove-only minimum, accessory set or packaged mass. For a hard carry limit, neither figure is sufficiently clear. Ask for a model-specific weight basis rather than using the lower value just because it appears in the main text.

The inspected GS-1000G page says fuel is not included but does not itemize a carrying case or cookware. Other listings or a bundle may show additional items; those are not proof of what the base SKU includes. In particular, the collection has a distinct GS-1000G-KIT griddle package. A griddle shown elsewhere should not silently appear in a GS-1000G purchase assumption. Check the box contents and exact code before ordering.

Adjustable flame is a claim, not a cooking trial

The page's control wording is relevant if a meal needs more than full output, and a piezo igniter can simplify lighting when it is functioning. Neither feature has been independently tested in this review. There is no reported water-boil time, fuel-consumption figure, low-setting stability test, altitude result or cookware-fit result. The 7,650 BTU value is a manufacturer specification, not a promise of a particular cooking speed. A pot that fits over the burner in a photo can still be too wide, heavy or unstable; the page provides no numeric boundary to use in a strict selector.

The exact page states outdoor use only. It also describes ventilation and an integrated windguard. Those details do not replace the supplied instructions for surface, clearances, fuel installation, storage or wind. No exact model manual was linked in the inspected page record, so do not assume that a separate windscreen is permitted or that the stove can be used inside an enclosed shelter.

Compare the base stove with the kit deliberately

The base GS-1000G and GS-1000G-KIT share a stove family name, but they are separate collection identities. This review assesses only the exact GS-1000G page and its linked black single-burner image. The kit is separately listed as a butane stove and griddle bundle and requires its own package review. If the griddle surface matters, confirm the kit SKU; if a bare stove is enough, check that no bundle-only accessory is being assumed. Similar product photos or a common “1000G” stem do not make their packages interchangeable.

Who should shortlist it?

The GS-1000G may suit an outdoor table where one butane burner is enough, adjustable heat is desired and the exact cartridge supply is practical. Pause if a strict carry-weight cap, known pan maximum, verified screen permission, included case or second fuel route is essential. The unresolved fields do not mean the stove is incompatible with every such setup; they mean this page does not substantiate it, so the finder will not treat unknowns as a match.

This assessment uses the exact US Gas One GS-1000G product page and its associated image, not ownership or field testing. No price, current inventory or customer-review claim is used. Read the instructions supplied with the exact unit and distinguish this stove-only listing from the separately observed GS-1000G-KIT bundle row before purchase.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Burners in one arrangement1
Fuel connectorButane canister; exact connector standard not stated
Specified fuel blendButane (8 oz canister specified)
Fuel canister includedNo
Adjustable flameYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare this stove against your actual setup

Use the finder for a fact-based shortlist, then confirm the exact manual, fuel cartridge and package before use.

In this review

Questions to consider for this model

Read the matching requirement, its tradeoffs and the other reviewed options.

More matching requirements
Combine my requirements →