Model assessment · Camp Chef

Camp Chef Kodiak Two-Burner Camping Stove review

A portable two-burner camp stove with 20,000 BTU/hr total listed output, a matchless igniter, a folding lid described as a built-in wind screen, and an integrated carry handle; its fuel-connection details, cookware ceiling, and listed-weight basis remain unconfirmed.

Sources checked 2026-10-31 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Open red-lidded Camp Chef Kodiak stove with two burners, side wind panels, front controls, and a stainless drip tray.
Camp Chef Kodiak TTS22CA42 manufacturer reference photo, open configuration. Camp Chef
A useful fit for

A source-supported two-burner, 20,000-BTU total propane stove with a built-in lid wind screen and carry handle. It can enter a basic pot-heating and two-burner comparison, but the exact fuel connection, cooking limits, adjustable-flame behavior, and safety directions need confirmation from the TTS22CA42 manual.

The main tradeoff

Camp Chef publishes no maximum cookware diameter or minimum-weight basis for this configuration, and the exact model manual was not located in the official stove directory. Do not assume a fuel connection, external-screen approval, or the operating rules of another Camp Chef stove.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Is the Kodiak's exact fuel connection the same as an MSR threaded canister?

No. Camp Chef's official gallery describes a propane setup, while the page does not establish an MSR 80/20 EN 417 connection. The Kodiak TTS22CA42 manual and exact cylinder/connector requirements were not located in the official stove-manual directory, so verify the supplied unit instructions and never assume an adapter or included cylinder.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the Kodiak document both water heating and two simultaneous burners?

The exact page lists two 10,000-BTU burners, a 20,000-BTU total, and a 200-square-inch cooking area while describing cooking with multiple cast-iron pans. This supports a basic pot-heating and two-burner comparison, not a timed boil, arbitrary pan-clearance claim, or serving count.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the Kodiak pass a strict cookware or minimum-weight limit?

Not from these sources. The page lists a cooking-area number, not a maximum cookware diameter, and its 11-pound weight is unscoped; the separate raw Shopify variant weight is 7,257 with no weight unit. Neither proves a manufacturer minimum or packaged weight, so a numeric finder answer remains unconfirmed.

Explore this need in the finder →

Evidence note: This is a source-based assessment, not a hands-on stove, ignition, flame, boil-time, or wind test. Camp Chef's current U.S. listing identifies the exact Kodiak SKU, but I could not locate an official manual explicitly naming TTS22CA42 in the manufacturer stove-manual directory I checked on October 31, 2026. Obtain the instructions supplied for the exact unit before planning fuel, clearances, cookware limits, or any added wind protection.

Start with the exact Kodiak, not a similar Camp Chef name

Camp Chef's current U.S. product page identifies the Kodiak as SKU TTS22CA42. The linked Shopify product record shows one “Default Title” variant and UPC 033246222721. That is a distinct stove identity, not the older Everest 2X MSHP or the Everest 2X MSHPX reviewed here. The brand's names, colors, and product-family labels are not reliable substitutes for the underside model and UPC when checking an offered unit.

The product page describes a compact camp stove with two stainless-steel burners, matchless ignition, an integrated carry handle, regulator storage, a stainless drip tray, and a folding lid with a built-in wind screen. The gallery photo shows the red lid open over two burners and side panels; it is a manufacturer reference image, not evidence of a cooking test or of everything included in the box. Camp Chef's copy calls out a 200-square-inch cooking area and multiple cast-iron pans, but does not specify a maximum pan diameter, handle clearance, or a verified two-pan arrangement for arbitrary cookware.

Two modest-output burners, with no timed-boil comparison

The listed output is 10,000 BTU per burner, 20,000 BTU total. That gives a useful distinction from Camp Chef's larger-output Everest 2X MSHPX and Mountaineer MS40AX listings, which each specify two 20,000-BTU burners and 40,000 BTU total. These are maker specifications, not measured heat at a pan or a promise of faster meals. The Kodiak's 200-square-inch cooking-area figure is also not a cookware-diameter limit.

For a basic pot-based meal or heating water, the listing supports treating this as a cooking stove: it identifies two burners and explicitly discusses cooking with pans. The page provides no comparable time-to-boil specification, and no timed boil or simmer test was performed for this assessment. Do not infer how quickly it will heat a particular kettle, how evenly a pan will heat, or whether a chosen large vessel clears both grates from the BTU and area numbers alone.

The listing and its gallery show two burner controls and a separate matchless-ignition button, but the available Kodiak-specific text does not define a control range or state that it supports a low simmer. I therefore do not count it as an adjustable-simmer match on the current evidence. A visible dial or a push button is not a flame-control test. If delicate low heat matters, ask Camp Chef for the exact manual or a written specification for TTS22CA42 rather than borrowing adjustment claims from the Everest or Mountaineer.

Confirm the fuel arrangement and windscreen rules first

One official gallery image and its description identify a propane setup, and the product text mentions regulator storage. The exact product page does not spell out the connector, regulator specification, approved cylinder size, hose arrangement, or whether a cylinder is included. The image is not package-list evidence. Do not assume a disposable-cylinder fitting, a refillable-tank route, an adapter, or a fuel container based on another Camp Chef stove. In particular, propane is not the MSR 80/20 isobutane-propane blend in a threaded EN 417 canister.

The official product page describes the folding lid as a built-in wind screen, and the image shows side panels. Those features do not authorize a separate external shield. I could not find TTS22CA42 among the model names in Camp Chef's accessible stove-manual directory; the directory does list documents for other Mountain Series stoves, including MSHPX and MS40AX. That is a reason not to transfer their fuel, operating, clearance, or windscreen directions to the Kodiak—not proof that no Kodiak manual exists elsewhere. Follow the full instructions supplied with the exact unit, and do not improvise a shield around a gas stove.

The CPSC's 2020 Camp Chef portable-stove recall names models MS40A, MSHP, and MSGG with specified regulator date codes. That notice does not name Kodiak SKU TTS22CA42. This comparison is limited to that recall notice, not a guarantee that an offered stove or replacement part is clear of every safety notice; check the exact product and component labels and current official notices.

Carry claims need a better basis

The product page lists 11 pounds and dimensions of 23.8 inches wide, 12.8 inches deep, and 3.5 inches high. It does not state whether its weight is bare, packaged, or transport-ready, or say whether the dimensions describe a closed carry configuration. The linked product record has a separate raw variant weight of 7,257 grams but no weight unit or basis. These values are not interchangeable measures of minimum stove weight or packed load, so neither qualifies the Kodiak for the finder’s hard minimum-weight cap. Add the actual fuel container and any separate cookware, then confirm packed size and total load with the seller or manufacturer.

The handle, regulator storage, and rattle-reducing design are useful storage features in the manufacturer's description, but they do not establish a carrying case, included fuel, or protection for a vehicle. The stainless drip tray may make cleaning easier, yet the exact care procedure and any disassembly limits should come from the model-specific booklet.

Who should keep it on a shortlist?

The Kodiak is worth comparing if the documented two-burner layout, modest 20,000-BTU total, built-in lid screen, and compact-looking body fit a car-camping setup. Its clearest verified advantage over the two other Camp Chef models in this review set is the lower listed burner output; its cited cooking-area figure is 200 square inches versus 215 for Everest 2X and 302 for Mountaineer. The listed weights are not scoped consistently enough to declare which complete setup is lighter.

The unresolved manual is the main buying limitation. Before paying, confirm the exact SKU and UPC, obtain the correct operating booklet, verify the fuel connector and approved cylinder or hose, ask whether any cookware-size or clearance limit applies, and confirm the package contents. If the seller cannot identify the manual and fuel configuration, this listing does not answer the safety and compatibility questions that should come before a purchase. No price, stock, seller condition, or customer experience is assessed here.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Burners in one arrangement2
Fuel connectorPropane connection unspecified
Specified fuel blendPropane
Push-start ignitionYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Compare this stove against your actual setup

Use the finder for a fact-based shortlist, then confirm the exact manual, fuel cartridge and package before use.

In this review

Questions to consider for this model

Read the matching requirement, its tradeoffs and the other reviewed options.

More matching requirements
Combine my requirements →